News Centre

Changes to Bishops' Responsibilities

Since the episcopal ordination of Bishop Paul McAleenan and Bishop John Wilson, Cardinal Vincent has announced changes in responsibilities among all four Auxiliary Bishops for particular diocesan departments.

Bishop John Sherrington will continue to be Chairman of the Diocesan Education Commission until the summer, when Bishop John Wilson will take over. He will also continue oversight of Allen Hall and the selection conferences. He has now taken up the responsibilities of Moderator of the Curia and continues as Chairman of the Finance Committee of the diocese. He will also have oversight of the University Chaplaincy and the Diocesan Archives.

Bishop Nicholas Hudson continues with oversight of the Agency for Evangelisation, Marriage and Family Life, the Youth Ministry, and the Justice and Peace Commission.

Bishop Paul McAleenan will take over as Chairman of the Advisory Committee for the work of Caritas in the diocese in succession to Canon Stuart Wilson.

Bishop Paul will also assume oversight for all matters concerning Ethnic Chaplaincies and will oversee the work of the Permanent Diaconate and be the episcopal contact for the diocese’s work with sick and retired priests.

Bishop John Wilson will now join the Education Commission and become its Chairman in the summer. He will also have oversight of ecumenical work at diocesan level, and work in inter-religious dialogue. He will also exercise oversight in the areas of Liturgy, Art and Architecture and the Historic Churches Commission.

The new bishops also join the Board of Trustees and the Finance Board.