The Education Service

The Education Service

Diocesan Education Commission

The Diocesan Education Commission is chaired by Bishop John Sherrington and is appointed by the Archbishop as a decision-making body which acts in his name. It is responsible to him in all areas relating to education in schools and colleges set out in canon law and English law. It is responsible to the Diocesan Trustees for the financial aspects of providing and maintaining Catholic education in the Diocese. Through its Chairman, the Education Commission liaises with the Archbishop and his Auxiliary Bishops and the Diocesan Trustees. It liaises with schools and colleges mainly through the Director of Education and the staff of the Education Service.

Members of the Commission

Chairman: Bishop John Wilson

Mr John Asgian, Mrs Lisa Barton, Mr Edward Conway, Fr Michael Dunne, Mrs Sue Flockton, Mrs Kate Griffin, Fr Michael Holman SJ, Mrs Juliette Jackson, Mr Martin Rainsford, and Mrs Pamela Singh OBE.

In attendance: The Director of Education

Education Service

The Education Service works to the Diocesan Education Commission in providing professional support for Catholic School and Colleges, Head Teachers, Principals and Governing Bodies.

Download the Statutes of the Education Commission here

Contact details

Greeny Longville

Telephone: 020 7798 9005

Vaughan House

46 Francis Street, 


Tel: 020 7798 9005  Fax: 020 7798 9013